About MIPR Retreat

MIPR will have a whole day retreat on the first day of the conference (April 10, 2018) to invite the pioneers and leaders in the multimedia research community to discuss the future directions and opportunities of multimedia research. This retreat is sponsored by IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Multimedia Computing (TCMC). We plan to have a report and a feature article on a leading multimedia journal after the retreat to be shared with the multimedia research community.

Moderators (TBA):

  • Mohan Kankanhalli
  • National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Yung-Hsiang Lu
  • Purdue University, USA
  • Abdulmotaleb El Saddik
  • University of Ottowa, Canada

    Panelists (TBA):

  • Edward Y. Chang
  • President, HTC Research and Healthcare
  • Chang Wen Chen
  • IEEE Fellow, SPIE Fellow
    Professor, State University of New York at Buffalo, USA
    Dean and Professor, School of Science and Engineering, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China
  • Wen Gao
  • ACM Fellow, IEEE Fellow, Chinese Academy of Engineering
    Professor, Peking University, China
    President, China Computer Federation (CCF)
  • Ramesh Jain
  • ACM Fellow, IEEE Fellow, AAAS Fellow
    Professor, University of California, USA
  • Klara Nahrstedt
  • ACM Fellow, IEEE Fellow
    Professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA